Quality of Research Communication Award


Quality of Research Communication Award


The Quality of Research Communications Award is intended to recognise superior communication of concepts or knowledge in any subject matter of professional specialization (i.e. teaching, research, policy analysis, or extension) in agricultural and resource economics to a specified audience.

Amount of Prize

The winning nomination will receive a $500 cash award to be presented at the Society's annual conference dinner.


At least one of the co-authors of the work must have been a member of AARES when the work was published.


The publication may communicate the author's original research or include that of others, and the communication may be directed to audiences inside or outside the profession.

Entries are to be submitted to the AARES Central Office, and should include one hard copy and one electronic copy of the publication. Up to three pages of other supporting evidence, including items such as a statement about the nature of the work and why it is prize-worthy, or letters of support by third parties, may be submitted as well.

Entries must be received by 15 November of the year of nomination (for items In Press, page proofs may be submitted along with a letter from the editor or publisher, indicating the date when the work will be published).

Selection Criteria

Six major areas are to be considered in evaluating nominations as follows:

  1. Importance of topic
  2. Timeliness of topic
  3. Excellence in communication to an audience that is primarily outside the profession
  4. Significance of contribution to the literature or other media
  5. Economic content of communication  


A maximum of one award will be given per year; however the Society reserves the right to make no award in the event that no entry is judged to be of sufficient merit.

The decision of the Council of the Society will be final and no correspondence will be entered into with entrants. Submission of a publication to be considered for the Prize implies acceptance of all of the conditions of the Prize.

Instructions to the Prize Committee

The committee will include three members. Normally, one member will be replaced each year, so the usual length of tenure of a member is three years. Normally, each member chairs the committee in his/her third year as a member.

The committee will determine the system to be used in judging entries and the specific criteria to be applied.

The committee should finalise its decision at least two weeks prior to the AARES conference in the year of the award, and should advise the secretary of the result so that he/she can prepare a cheque and certificate for presentation at the conference dinner.

Previous Winners

Year    Recipient   Publication title
2018   Sayed Iftekhar, 
Maksym Polyakov, 
James Fogarty & 
David Pannell
  Use of economic analysis in water management in Western Australia
2017   Sarah Wheeler
& Alec Zuo
  Informing national water policy issues in Australia
2016   Ross Kingwell   Russian and Ukraine wheat markets
2015   Not awarded    
2014   Katrina Davis,
Marit Kragt,
Steve Schilizzi,
Stefan Gelcich and
David Pannell
  Various items on accounting for
enforcement costs when allocating
spatial marine zones
2013   Abbie Rogers,
Marit Kragt,
Fiona  Gibson,
Michael  Burton,
Liz  Petersen and
Dave Pannell
  Various articles on Non-market Valuation
2012   John Mullen   'The Future Productivity and Competitiveness Challenge for Australian Agriculture'
2011   Kym Anderson,
Joanna Croser
  Various papers examining trade restrictions and economic welfare in a number of countries
2011   David Pannell   'Pannell Discussions' - David's long-running blog
2010   Julian Alston,
Bruce Babcock,
Philip Pardey
  'The Shifting Patterns of Agricultural Production and Productivity Worldwide'
2009   Ross Garnaut   For his many communications on Climate Change and Climate Policy
2008   D Pannell, G Hailu,
A Weersink, A Burt
  'More reasons why farmers have so little interest in futures markets. Agricultural Economics' 39(1): 41-50.
2007   No nominations received    
2006   Phil Pardey,
Julian Alston,
Roley Piggott
  'Agricultural R&D Policy in the Developing World: Too Little, Too Late?'

Prize Committees

Year     Prize Committees
2018   F. Jotzo (Chair), P. Schrobback, S. Hester
2017   S. McWhinnie (Chair), F. Jotzo, R. Kingwell, P. Schrobback
2016   G. Kerr (Chair), R. Greiner, S. McWhinnie
2015   P. Burke (Chair), R. Stringer, G. Kerr 
2014   R. Kingwell (Chair) / H. Scarborough / P. Burke
2013   J. Alston (Chair) / R. Kingwell / H. Scarborough 
2012   J. Freebairn (Chair) / J. Alston / R. Kingwell
2011   M. Harris (Chair) / J. Mullen / J. Freebairn
2010   J. Mullen (Chair) / M. Harris / R. Kingwell
2009   C. O'Donnell (Chair) / J. Alston / J. Quiggin
2008   A. Rae (Chair) / R. Cullen / C. Tanner
2007   J. Mullen (Chair) / C. Tanner / K. Anderson / J. Bennett
2006   T. Ancev / L. Pechey / R. Cullen / J. Mullen