Heading North


AARES-AAEA Young Professionals Exchange Programme - Heading North Award

The 2020 Travelling North Award was impacted by COVID and we expect it to also be impacted in 2021. The AAEA is planning a conference with an online and some physical presence but the opportunities for international participation have be affected. As a consequence, Council at its last meeting resolved that no physical presence funding will be provided in 2021 and instead agreed to sponsor a modified Heading North Award which will provide funding for:

  • An awardee to be recognised as the Winner of the Heading North Award and a grant to cover the cost of their online-only participation in the conference, and
  • ​Grants to high calibre applicants for the Award to also fund the cost of their online-only participation in the conference.

Total award funding to be distributed to fund online-only participation will be capped at the annual costnormally incurred by AARES to support physical participation.


The purpose of this award is to provide 'young' agricultural and resource economists with an opportunity for professional and personal development and international professional and cultural exchange.

AARES and the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) Trust jointly offer this award to facilitate the attendance of one Australian or New Zealand based AARES or AAEA member at the AAEA Meeting in order to:

  • facilitate contact and discussion among those studying problems or extending knowledge of agricultural and resoruce economics in Australia and North America
  • to stimulate comparative analysis and discussion of policies and programmes affecting primary industries, resources and the environment in both countries
  • to encourage co-operation with scientific and other organisations and institutions engaged in similar or related activities in Australia and the United States


The 'Heading North' Award is offered to members resident in Australia or New Zealand who are members of either AARES and AAEA. Applications for the award should include:

  • an application statement of 1-2 pages indicating what the candidate hopes to achieve with the award, and why they would be deserving of the award
  • a one-page biographical statement outlining the candidate's career to date
  • the abstract or working paper for the proposed presentation at the online conference, or confirmation of paper submission / acceptance.


A call for nominations will be advertised on the AARES website. 

Entries must be received by 18 June.

Entries are to be submitted electronically to the AARES Central Office, and should include a short proposal addressing the selection criteria along with a copy of the entrant's CV which includes a record of their publications. Applicants should identify how the award would facilitate interaction and cooperation between professionals in both countries.

Selection criteria

  1. Award recipients must present a paper at the Conference representing original work that has not been published in its current form. The paper will be judged on the quality of the research reported, its innovativeness, and the writing style.
  2. Preference will be given to papers that are on issues of relevance to both countries, and to those involving cross-jurisdictional comparisons, however, papers on any topic will be considered.
  3. Co-authored papers are acceptable although the award will normally be made to one, normally a more junior, author.


Submission of an entry to be considered for the Prize implies acceptance of all of the conditions of the Prize. The decision of the Council of the Society in regard to the winner will be final and no correspondence that questions or challenges results will be accepted from entrants. Applicants do not have to have a paper accepted at AAEA to apply – they should include their paper in their application and we may be able to include it in our AARES session at AAEA.


Judging will be completed within two weeks of the closing date for entries and the winner will be advised as soon as possible by the chair of the selection committee. The award will be announced at the respective Conference Dinners and published in the AARES News and Views and other appropriate outlets. The level of the award will be reviewed by the AARES Council every second year.

Instructions to the Prize Committee

The Committee will determine the system to be used in judging entries and any specific criteria to be applied.

The Committee should finalise its decision by late June and the Committee Chair should advise the winner of his/her successful submission (with a copy to the AARES Central Office and the AAEA President).

The Committee Chair should also advise the other entrants that their submissions were unsuccessful.

Instructions to the Winner

The winner will be advised of his/her successful submission by the Chair of the Prize Committee.

The winner should contact the AAEA President who will provide advice on the submission of the winner's paper at the Conference.

The winner should initially pay for expenses to attend the conference online and then submit the claim to AARES Central Office.  If the claim is approved, the winner will be reimbursed.

Travel Awards Committee

The Travel Awards Committee comprises:

  • The President-Elect of AARES (Chair)
  • The President-Elect of AAEA
  • The President of AARES NA Branch
Year   Committee Members
2022   T. Mallawaarachchi (Chair) / N. Wilson / K. Fuller
2021   F. Scrimgeour (Chair) / M. Khanna / K. Fuller
2020   G. Dwyer (Chair) / M. Khanna / K. Fuller
2019   S. Wheeler (Chair) / J. Rolfe / D. Austin / T. Wahl
2018   J. Rolfe (chair) / S. Kerr / D. Austin / D. McEwan
2017   S. Kerr (chair) /D. MacEwan / S. Swinton
2016   Q. Grafton (chair) / J. Lusk / J. MacEwan
2015   R. Cullen (chair) / B. Goodwin / A. Bekkerman
2014   R. Cullen (chair) / B. Goodwin / A. Bekkerman
2013   A. Randall (chair) / R. Sexton / A. Bekkerman
2012   M. Wegener (chair) / R. Sexton / A. Bekkerman
2011   J. Quiggin (chair) / R. King / K. Curtis / D. Marsh / M. Wegener
2010   P. Pardey (chair) / G. Tonsur / R. Forbes / M. Wegener
2009   R. Kingwell (chair) / T. Marsh / S. Ford / M. Wegener
2008   C. O'Donnell (chair) / T. Marsh / D. Marsh / M. Wegener

Previous Award Winners

Year (of travel)   Recipient
2020   Courtney Regan
2019   Saeideh Khosroshahi
2018   Alexandra Peralta
2017   Sharmina Ahmed
2016   Zac Dorner
2015   Sayed Iftekhar
2014   David Ubilava
2013   Bethany Cooper
2012   Tess Stafford
2011   Marit Kragt
2010   Bronwyn Crowe
2009   Mary Ann Franco-Dixon
2008   Pamela Kaval
2007   Stuart Mounter
2006   Jared Greenville
2005   Atakelty Hailu
2004   John Gibson
2003    Liz Petersen