First Time Presenter's Award


First Time Presenter's Award


The First Time Presenter's Award is intended to recognise the most outstanding presentation by a delegate presenting a paper at an AARES Annual Conference for the first time.

Value of Award

The winning presenter will receive a $100 cash award and a certificate to be presented at the end of the Society’s Annual Conference.


The presenter should be making their first presentation at an AARES Conference and that their first presentation at any national or international conference was no more than 12 months ago.

Selection Process

The LOC is to provide all contributed paper session chairs with a First Time Presenter's Evaluation Sheet Form to be completed for first-time presenters in their sessions. The award is to be judged before the closing of the Conference by the new President, and the winner announced in the closing session.

Previous Winners


 Year     Recipient 
2024   Iqbal Saleh Sitompul
2023   Alexandra Hegarty
Zunian Luo (Online)
Disha Bose (Commended)
2022   Clarisse Gonzalvo
Julia Manchester
Robbie Maris
2021   Claire Doll
2020   Viktoria Graskemper
 2018    Caleb Connolly
 2017    R. Owusu Coffie
 2016    Laura Bateman
 2014    Marie Johnston
 2012    YaoYao Ji
 2011    Tess Brennan
 2010    Ben McNair
 2009       Aurelie De Lisle
 2007    Ririn Purnamassari
 2004    Bonny Parkinson
 2003    Peter Dunn
 2002    Chris Fleming
 2001    Don Cooper
 2000    Rick Llewellyn