Best PhD Thesis Award


Best PhD Thesis Award

From 2013, the best PhD Thesis Award has been combined with the best Masters Thesis Award in the best Post-Graduate Award.

Previous Winners

Year   Award Recipient
2012   Ditya Agung Nurdianto, ANU
'A General Equilibrium Perspective on Energy and Environmental Policies in ASEAN'
2011   Md. Sayed Iftekhar, UWA
'Buying Beetle and Bats: Iterative Combinatorial Auction Designs for Conservation'
2010   Johanna L Croser, University of Adelaide
'An Empirical analysis of Global Agricultural Price Distorting Policies 1960 to 2007'
2009   Scott Waldron, UQ
'Modernising traditional agriculture in China through the development of higher value agrifood chains: the case of the beef industry'
2008   Helen Scarborough, ANU
'The Estimation of Intergenerational Distributional Weights for use in Natural Resource Management'
2007   Jared Greenville, Sydney Uni
'Marine Protected Areas: A Tool for Fisheries Management'
2007   Graeme Doole, UWA
'Value of Perennial Pasture Phases in Dryland Agricultural Systems of the Eastern-Central Wheat Belt of Western Australia'
2006   Jean-Marc Kutschuksian, Sydney Uni
'A Theoretical Analysis of Voluntary Corporate Social Responsibility'
2005   Rodney Beard, UQ
'Ito Schochastic control theory, Stochastic differential Games and the Economic Theory of Mobile Pastoralism'
2004   Keflew Mekonnen, UQ
'The economics of developing water resource projects in the Ethiopian Nile River Basin, their environmental, and Tran boundary implications'
2003   Rick Llewellyn, UWA
'Adoption of integrated weed management by grain growers'
2002   Graham Marshall, UNE
'Crafting Cooperation in the Commons: An Economic Analysis of Prospects for Collaborative Environmental Governance'
2001   Thilak Mallawaarachchi
'Economic-Environmental Trade-offs in the Australian Sugar Industry: Issues of Efficiency and Equity in Land Allocation'
2000   Xueyan Zhao, UNE
'The Economic Impacts of New Technologies and Promotions on the Australian Beef Industry'
1999   Raymond Challen, UWA
'A Transaction Cost Analysis of Institutional Reform for Water use in Irrigation'
1998   Ye Qiang, UWA
'The Economic Significance of New Minerals Projects in Western Australia'
1997   Michael Lockwood, UQ
'Integrated Value Assessment of Natural Areas'
1996   Alistair McGorm, UQ
'An Economic Analysis of the Australian East Coast Tuna Longline Fishery'
1994-1995   John Tisdell
'Estimating Socially-Just Outcomes to Trade in Water Markets: A Cooperative Game Theory Approach'
1993   Yiping Huang, ANU
'Government Intervention and Agricultural Performance in China'
1992   Donna Brennan UWA
'Peak Load Problems in the Australian Grain Distribution Industry: An Economic Analysis'
1990-1991   David J Pannell, UWA
'The Economics of Herbicide Application for Weed Control: Deter ministic, Stochastic and Tactical Analysis'
1988-1989   I Coxhead, ANU
'Technical Progress in Agriculture, Income Distribution and Economic Policy: The Philippines 1950-1980'
1986-1987   C Wall, Sydney Uni
'Modelling a Multiple Output Production System: The Australian Sheep Industry'
1984-1985   L P O'Mara, ANU 
'Linkages for the Farm Sector to the Australian Macro Economy - Towards a Theoretical and Empirical Analysis' 


The Best PhD Thesis Award is intended to recognise the most outstanding PhD thesis in the field of agricultural and resource economics.

Amount of Award

The winning thesis will receive a $500 cash award and a certificate to be presented at the Society’s Annual Conference dinner.


All theses accepted (that is, examined and approved) by Australian and New Zealand universities during the 12 months ended 30 September for the award of a PhD degree will be eligible. ‘Accepted’ in this sense means approved by the Faculty concerned, irrespective of the date of conferring of degrees.

Membership of the Society is not a necessary condition of entry.


Only one thesis may be submitted by any one Department.

The thesis must be submitted by the Department Head at the University at which the thesis was submitted. Three copies of the thesis plus examiners reports and written agreement to the nomination are to be forwarded by certified mail or courier to the AARES Central Office by 12 November.  Electronic copies of the thesis will not be accepted.

Department Heads should indicate the relative importance of the thesis in the degree program.

Selection Criteria

The Prize will be made on the basis of academic merit within the field of agricultural and resource economics.


In the event of one or more theses being judged to have equal merit, the Prize may be shared. The Society reserves the right to make no award in the event that no entry is judged to be of sufficient merit.

Entries submitted which are considered ineligible by the Prize Committee because they are beyond the field of agricultural and resource economics will be returned to Departments prior to consideration of the comparative merit of other entries.

The decision of the Council of the Society will be final and no correspondence will be entered into with entrants or department heads on behalf of entrants. Submission of a thesis for the Prize implies acceptance of all the conditions of the Prize.

Instructions to the Prize Committee

The system and specific criteria for judging the award are up to the committee.

Ideally, the Committee should finalise their decision prior to the Conference and advise the Federal Secretary of the result so that he/she can prepare a cheque and certificate for presentation at the conference dinner.

The Committee includes three members. Normally, one member is replaced each year, so the usual length of tenure of a member is three years. Normally, each member chairs the Committee in their third year as a member.

From 2013, the Best PhD Thesis Award has been combined with the Best Masters Thesis Award in the Best Post-Graduate Award.

Prize Committees

Year    Prize Committees
2012   H. Scarborough (Chair) / D. Peterson / G. Hertzler
2011   J. Fogarty (Chair) / D. Peterson / H. Scarborough
2010   O. Cacho (Chair) / J. Fogarty / D. Peterson
2009   T. Ancev (Chair) / O. Cacho / J. Fogarty
2008   C. Saunders (Chair) / T. Ancev / O. Cacho
2007   Q. Grafton (Chair) / C. Saunders / T. Ancev
2006   Q. Grafton (Chair) / S. Schilizzi / C. Saunders
2005   S. Schilizzi (Chair) / R. Hean / Q. Grafton
2004   R. Hean (Chair) / K. Parton / S. Schilizzi
2003   K. Parton (Chair) / S. Schilizzi / R. Hean
2002   P. Hone (Chair) /H-S. Chang / K. Parton
2001   H-S. Chang (Chair) / R. Kingwell / P. Hone
2000   R. Kingwell (Chair) /D.P. Godden / H-S. Chang
1999   D.P. Godden (Chair) / R. Kingwell / A. Rambaldi
1996   S. Beare (Chair) / D. MacLaren / P. Simmons
1995   D. MacLaren (Chair) /P. Bardsley / S. Beare
1994   D. MacLaren / J.O.S. Kennedy / A. Meister