Quality of Research Discovery Award for EMCRs




The EMCR Quality of Research Discovery Award intends to recognise research that makes a significant contribution to the field of knowledge in agricultural and resource economics by an early or mid-career researcher (EMCRs). The work should demonstrate excellence in research methodology and may deal with conceptualization of researchable problems as well as empirical findings.

Amount of Prize

The winning nomination will receive a $500 cash award to be presented at the Society's annual conference dinner.


The lead applicant/author must be an early or mid-career researcher (EMCRs) at the time of application. EMCR status will be defined as up to 15 years post-terminal degree conferral, plus a maximum allowance of additional two years for those who have experienced career interruptions (e.g., for raising children or other care-giving activities, part-time employment, a temporary departure from any research position, illness, etc.).

The lead applicant/author must have been a member of AARES when the work was published.

Publications for a period of up to three years prior to the 15 November submission due date are eligible for an award.


Entries are to be submitted to the AARES Central Office in electronic format. The application should include

  • The entry. The publication may communicate the author's original research or include that of others, and the communication may be directed to audiences inside or outside the profession.
  • Up to three pages of other supporting evidence—including items such as a statement about the nature of the work and why it is prize-worthy, or letters of support by third parties may be submitted as well.
  • Proof of EMCR status (such as, copies of PhD certificates)

Entries must be received by 15 November of the year of nomination (for items In Press, page proofs may be submitted along with a letter from the editor or publisher, indicating the date when the work will be published).

Selection Criteria

Seven major areas are to be considered in evaluating nominations as follows:

  • Importance of topic
  • Timeliness of topic
  • Excellence in published research intended primarily for an academic audience
  • Significance of research to the literature or other media
  • Organisation and presentation of research
  • Economic content of research
  • Policy relevance 


A maximum of one award will be given per year; however, the Society reserves the right to make no award in the event that no entry is judged to be of sufficient merit.

The decision of the Council of the Society will be final, and no correspondence will be entered into with entrants. Submission of a publication to be considered for the Prize implies acceptance of all of the conditions of the Prize.

Instructions to the Prize Committee

The committee will include three members. Normally, one member will be replaced each year, so the usual length of tenure of a member is three years. Normally, each member chairs the committee in his/her third year as a member.

The committee will determine the system to be used in judging entries and the specific criteria to be applied.

The committee should finalise its decision at least two weeks prior to the AARES conference in the year of the award and should advise the secretary of the result so that he/she can prepare a cheque and certificate for presentation at the conference dinner.

Previous Award Winners

Year Recipient Publication title
2023 Curtis Rollins Investigating cost non-attendance as a driver of inflated welfare estimates in mixed logit models
2022 Muyang Ge
Eric C. Edwards
Sherzod B. Akhundjanov
Irrigation Investment on an American Indian Reservation

Prize Committee

Year   Prize Committees
2023   John Gibson (Chair), Stephanie McWhinnie, Trent Smith
2022   Stephanie McWhinnie (Chair), Darla Hatton MacDonald, Jeremy De Valck