IAAE Award


International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE) Travel Award - ACIAR Travel Grant


The objective of this award is to provide the winners with an opportunity for professional and personal development, and international professional and cultural exchange. The award has a value of AU$4,000 for each winner and is open to AARES members normally resident in Australia.


Every three years, the International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE) organises a conference on agricultural economics which attracts up to 1,000 deletates. The Association aims to:

  • foster the application of agricultural economics to improve rural economic and social conditions
  • advance knowledge of agriculture's economic organization
  • facilitate communication and information exchange among those concerned with rural welfare.

The next conference will be in New Delhi, India 19 August to 24 August 2021.


Every three years the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR) provided funding to enable up to four Australian members of AARES to attend the IAAE triennial conference to take advantage of the opportunity to build on-going networks that can contribute to ACIAR's programs and objectives. Funding will be used to support the attendance of AARES members at the next triennial conference to take place from 19 August to 24 August 2021 in New Delhi, India.

Amount of the Award

Up to $4,000 per person will be available to assist with the costs of travel, registration and accommodation to attend the triennial conference.


Applicants must be members of AARES and normally resident in Australia and must have already had a copy of their paper or poster accepted for presentation at the IAAE Conference.


A call for nominations will be advertised in News and Views and on the AARES website.

Entries must normally be received by a minimum of 9 months before the IAAE conference.

Entries are to be submitted electronically to the AARES Central Office.

Selection Criteria

Applications should include:

  • a brief 2-page CV
  • a copy of their accepted paper or poster
  • a quarter page description on why attendance at the IAAE conference will benefit their career development and confirming that funding from other sources is not available to attend the conference
  • a paragraph on their involvement in and service to AARES  

Submission Deadline

Usually a minimum of 9 months prior to the conference. 1 April


Submission of an entry to be considered for the Prize implies acceptance of all of the conditions of the Prize. The decision of the Council of the Society in regard to the winners will be final and no correspondence that questions or challenges results will be accepted from entrants.


Judging will be completed within 2-3 weeks of the closing date for entries and the winners will be advised as soon as possible by the chair of the selection committee. The awards will be published on the AARES website and in the AARES News and Views. The level of the award will be reviewed by the AARES Council every three years.

Instructions for Award Committee

  1. Preference will be given to those not otherwise able to attend the meeting. It is a condition of the awards that those who receive them will participate in any group travel arrangements sponsored by AARES.
  2. Weight will be given to those who, by virtue of their position in academic circles, government, semi-government organisations, industry bodies, or the communications field will be able to pass on their experience to a reasonable number of the profession.
  3. In a belief that an important consideration in making the grants is to enable professional contacts to be made with overseas representatives of the profession, weight will be given to those who have not recently had the benefit of such contacts in their normal careers.
  4. Weight will be given to those working directly in the field of agricultural (or resource or environmental) economics - whether in teaching, research or in a practical way - and some account will be taken of their contribution in this sense.
  5. Due weight will be paid to youth.  Some consideration may be given to contributions to and efforts on behalf of the Society in the past.

Travel Awards Committee

The Travel Awards Committee comprises:

  • The AARES regional representative on IAAE Council
  • The President of AARES (Chair) 
  • The President of NZARES
  • The President of AARES NA Branch 
Year   Committee Members
2015   R. Cullen (chair) / J. McEwan / M. Newman
2012   M. Wegener (chair) / R. Sexton / A. Bekkerman / M. Doak
2009   M. Wegener (chair) / P. Pardey / K. Curtis / D. Marsh
2006   M. Wegener (chair) / R. Kingwell / T. Marsh / S. Ford
2003   M. Wegener (chair) / C. O'Donnell / T. Marsh / D. Marsh

Previous Award Winners

Year   Location   Recipients
2015   Milan, Italy   Risti Permani, University of South Australia
2012   Foz do Iguacu, Brazil   Bob Lindner, Liz Nolan, Jibran Punthakey
2009   Beijing, China   Marta Monjardino, Christian Fletcher
2006   Gold Coast, Australia   Tihomir Ancev,Samad Azad, Michael Burton, Emma Comerford, Jason Crean, Bronwyn Crowe, Bob Farquharson, Jared Greenville, QuiQiong Huang, Kaye-Blake, Lan Li, Sally Marsh, Jill McClusky, Nam Nguyen, David Pannell, Budy Resosudarmo, Arlene Rutherford, Mariah Tanner Ehmke, Peter Warr, Sarah Wheeler, Xueyan Zhao
2003   Durbhan, South Africa   Anita Wreford, Graham Marshall
2000   Berlin, Germany   Loriz Strappazzon, Oscar Cacho, Stuart Whitten
1997   Sacremento, USA   Roley Piggott
1994   Harare, Zimbabwe   I Crellin, P Daniel, R Johnson, M Wegener
1991   Tokyo, Japan   C Brown, R Lindner, D Vere, K Wang, R Tyers, K Sharma
1988   Buenos Aires, Argentina   J Anderson, K Anderson, A Arch, I Jarrett, H Kehal, R Lattimore, J O'Conner, G Ryland
1985   Malaga, Spain   D Etherington, E Fleming, M Hossain, W Martin, K Parton, C Wilcox 
1982   Jakarta, Indonesia   No grant awarded
1979   Banff, Canada   G W Edwards, J L Longmire, O P Vincent, K R Anderson, O R Mackay, J H Johnston 
1976   Nairobi, Kenya   B S Fisher, A W Hogstrom
1973   Sao Paulo   D R J Densley, R C Duncan
1970   Minsk, USSR   J R Anderson, P C Druce