Member Quicklinks

 Renew your membership

 Update your contact details 

 Access the latest AJARE 
 Access the Online Forum
 View the latest News & Views 

   Contact AARES Central Office
If you have renewed your membership but have not yet received a password, please contact the Central Office.

AARES Branches

Australian, New Zealand and North American members are automatically affiliated with one of our Branches.


Read the latest AARES Newsletter:

News and Views

March 2016

Volume 28, No. 1 

    Read the latest Journal
(Members only)

AJARE Jan 2016

Vol. 60, Issue 1


Bonus for AARES Members

      AARES members are entitled to receive a special 25% discount on all Wiley books.  Why not see what titles are available.  Some great ideas for gifts.  

(You must be logged on to follow this link.)

Selected Papers, Contributed Papers and Posters

Call for Submissions

The 2017AC Local Organising Committee invites contributions highlighting the latest economic research and policy innovations towards developing ways to achieve broad-based well-being.

Selected Papers - abstracts of up to 250 words plus a copy of the full manuscript must be submitted electronically by the due date of 19 September 2016.

Contributed Papers and Posters - abstracts of up to 250 words must be submitted electronically by the due date of 17 October 2016.

More information is available on the Conference Website.


    President's Profile

Professor Wendy Umberger became the AARES President in February 2016.  Wendy’s priority for the next 12 months is to work closely with the AARES Executive Council and members on the AARES Strategic Planning project to ensure that we are able to begin implementation of a Strategic Plan and related initiatives in 2017.  Wendy is keen to consult and work with current members to explore ways in which their needs can be met, and to explore opportunities for new strategic partnerships to grow AARES’s membership base.

Wendy is the Director of Global Food Studies, which focuses on economic issues affecting global food and agricultural value chains, and launched in 2013 at the University of Adelaide.  She joined the Governance Board of ICRISAT and the editorial board of Applied Economic Perspectives and Policy in 2015.  Wendy is an agricultural economist and received her B.S. in Animal Science (1996) and M.S. in Economics (1998) from South Dakota State University and a PhD in Agricultural Economics (2001) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 

Wendy currently leads components of inter- and multi-disciplinary agricultural value chain research projects in the Asia-Pacific region.  Wendy’s research uses innovative methods to understand drivers of consumer and producer behaviour and the implications of changing behaviour for food systems.  Part of this work includes estimating consumer demand for specific credence (quality, safety and health) attributes in food and determining efficient governance systems to verify related attributes. She is also studying the impact of urbanisation, modern retail transformation and development programs on food consumption patterns, diet quality and longer-run health and livelihood implications in Australia, Indonesia, Vietnam and Fiji.

Wendy has published extensively and has been invited to present her work internationally to a variety of audiences including industry, government and academic. Prior to joining the University of Adelaide in 2006, Wendy was an Assistant and Associate Professor from 2001-2007 in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at Colorado State University in the USA.  Wendy was raised on a beef cattle and grain farm, which is still owned and operated by her parents in South Dakota USA.  In her spare time, she enjoys “family time” outdoors with her husband and her 4-year-old daughter. 


2016 Prize Winners

AARES-AAEA Heading North Award

Zack Dorner, Monash University

Eliciting Risk Preferences for Intrinsic Attributes

AARES-NZARES Heading East Award

Pedro Flores Tenorio, La Trobe University

Design of a Choice Experiment to identify opportunities to increase the investment in biodiversity conservation in the Amazon for developed countries





Important Dates

25-26 Aug 2016
NZARES Annual Conference
Nelson, New Zealand

29-30 Aug 2016
Crawford Fund Parliamentary Conference
'Waste Not, Want Not'
Canberra, Australia

30 August 2016
Final date for the submission of Workshop and Mini-symposia proposals

30 Aug - 1 Sep 2016
EAAE Seminar
Novi Sad, Serbia

14 September 2016
Final date for the submission of Selected Papers (in full)

14 September 2016
Final date for submission for the Donna Brennan Award

23 September 2016
Conveners of WS and MS to be advised if their submission is successful

Early October 2016
Online Registrations Open

14 October 2016
Final date for the submission of Contributed Paper and Poster abstracts

17-19 Ocobert 2016

7th Global Summit on Agriculture and Horticulture
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

27-28 October 2016
Future of Tropical Economies
Cairns, Queensland

14 November 2016
Authors of papers and posters to be advised of the success of their submission

14 November 2016
Applicants to the 3-minute Thesis Competition to be advised of their success

7-10 December 2016
XXIII Agri-Food Research Network
Adelaide, SA

17 December 2016
All Presenting Authors to be registered for the Conference or their paper will be removed from the program

31 December 2016

Closing date for early bird rates

3-6 Jan 2017
WEAI 13th International Conference
Santiago, Chile

6-8 Jan 2017
ASSA Annual Meeting
American Economic Association
Chicago, Illinois

07-10 Feb 2017
AARES Annual Conference
BCEC, Brisbane, QLD

Feb 2018
AARES Annual Conference
Adelaide, SA

28 July – 2 August 2018
International Conference of Agricultural Economists 2018
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Australian Agricultural & Resource Economics Society, Inc.
Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University
Lennox Crossing, Canberra ACT 0200
Tel: 0409 032 338 | Email: | ARBN: 162 205 423